AV Preeminent
Best Law Firms
Best Lawyers
Super Lawyers

Understanding New Hampshire Car Insurance Requirements

June 13, 2023

When you suffer injuries or vehicle damage in a New Hampshire auto accident, you may be unsure what comes next. Thankfully, purchasing auto insurance can help cover some of the resulting costs. If you do not have insurance, you must pay for all damage to your vehicle out of pocket, which is often a significant expense. In New Hampshire, auto insurance policies cover damages incurred both when you are at fault and when someone else is at fault. Understanding New Hampshire’s insurance laws is critical to make sure you have adequate coverage in the event of an accident.

Does New Hampshire Require Drivers Purchase Auto Insurance?

According to the New Hampshire Insurance Department, the state does not require you to purchase auto insurance. However, if you choose not to buy insurance coverage, you must prove you have sufficient funds to meet New Hampshire motor vehicle financial responsibility requirements, which arise if you are at fault for an accident. Additionally, if you take out a loan on your vehicle, you should be aware that some lenders require auto insurance. In any event, it is important to be sure you have coverage for the hefty expenses that can result from a serious accident.

What Types of Insurance Coverage Should You Buy?

New Hampshire is unique in requiring people to bundle their insurance coverage. If you buy auto insurance for personal use, you must also buy Medical Payments Coverage, which covers medical expenses resulting from an auto accident. New Hampshire law requires you to buy at least $1,000 of Medical Payments Coverage. Additionally, people who buy auto insurance must also buy Uninsured Motorists Coverage, which protects against injuries from an accident with an at-fault uninsured driver or a hit-and-run driver. However, it does not cover property damage. The law requires Uninsured Motorists Coverage to match the limit of your Auto Liability Coverage, so the minimum limit is essentially also $1,000.

Furthermore, New Hampshire law sets minimum requirements for Auto Liability Coverage, which pays for damages to other people for which you are legally responsible. In New Hampshire, the minimum limits for Auto Liability Coverage are $25,000 per person for bodily injury, up to $50,000 if 2 or more people suffer injuries and up to $25,000 for property damage. To cover damages to your own vehicle, you can buy physical damage coverage. This form of coverage includes two types of property damage. First, it covers damage resulting from contact with another vehicle or object. Second, it covers damage you incurred due to reasons other than a collision. Most lenders generally require both types of physical damage coverage if you obtain a loan on your vehicle. Finally, you can also purchase Towing and Labor Coverage and Rental Reimbursement. Towing and Labor Coverage reimburses you for towing expenses when your vehicle needs roadside assistance. Rental Reimbursement helps cover the expenses you incur renting a vehicle while yours is under repair.

Have You Been Injured in a New Hampshire Auto Accident?

Sometimes, insurance does not adequately compensate for your injuries or the pain and suffering that can result from a serious car accident. If you or a loved one has suffered injuries in a New Hampshire auto accident, contact Peter Thompson & Associates today to understand your options. Our attorneys possess years of experience representing clients throughout New Hampshire in all areas of personal injury law, including auto accidents. Through our skilled representation, we will gather evidence and develop a case strategy to fight for the compensation you need and deserve. To learn more, and to schedule a free initial consultation, call our office at 800-804-2004 or contact us through our website.