AV Preeminent
Best Law Firms
Best Lawyers
Super Lawyers

Recovering After a New Hampshire Car Accident When a Driver Flees the Scene

November 30, 2021

Although most drivers stay on the scene after an accident, some drivers choose to flee the scene of the accident, often complicating things for other drivers and for themselves. In New Hampshire, any driver of a motor vehicle that causes a death, personal injury, or combined damages of more than $1,000 must report the accident in writing to the state’s DMV within 15 days of the accident. In the event that police respond to the scene and investigate the accident, the officer will send a written report of the state—otherwise, the driver is required to file the report after a New Hampshire motor vehicle accident. Under the New Hampshire Revised Statutes, any driver who “knows or should have known” that they were involved in an accident that resulted in property damage, personal injury, or death, must “immediately stop” their vehicle and give any other involved drivers, any injured persons, and any vehicle owners, their name and address, license plate number, insurance provider and policy information, registration number, and the name and address for every occupant of their vehicle.

When another driver flees the scene of the accident, it is important to report the accident and allow law enforcement to investigate. They may be able to locate the driver or the owner of the vehicle. Drivers should also take down any information about the vehicle or the driver that they have, including the license plate number and a description of the person and the vehicle. Even if the driver cannot be located, the victim may be able to recover compensation through their own insurance. Uninsured motorists coverage provides coverage for injuries resulting from a hit and run or accidents with an at-fault uninsured driver. In a lawsuit, victims may be able to recover financial compensation, including medical expenses, property damages, mental suffering, and more.

Driver Flees After Two Injured in New Hampshire with Disabled Vehicle

Two people were injured in a crash with a disabled vehicle in Greenland, New Hampshire early on a recent Sunday morning. According to one news source, a Chevrolet Equinox was involved in a rollover crash and was on its side in the left lane when a Toyota Camry ran into the disabled Equinox. The driver of the Equinox reportedly fled the scene on foot into the woods east on the side of Interstate 95. The driver of the Camry and a passenger in that car both suffered injuries. They were transported to a hospital for treatment but their injuries were not life-threatening. Police searched for the driver of the Equinox but had not located him. Anyone with information is encouraged to contact the police.

Contact a New Hampshire Accident Attorney

If you have been seriously injured in a New Hampshire hit-and-run accident or another type of accident, contact a New Hampshire personal injury attorney as soon as possible. At the law firm of Peter Thompson & Associates, their attorneys understand how important it is to their clients to obtain justice and seek accountability. They will work tenaciously on their clients’ behalf to hold negligent drivers, truckers, and property owners responsible when their carelessness caused a wrongful death. To schedule a free consultation with a personal injury attorney, call them at 800-804-2004 or fill out their online form.