AV Preeminent
Best Law Firms
Best Lawyers
Super Lawyers

Drunk Driving Remains Common in New Hampshire Despite Dangers

September 15, 2020

Drunk driving kills thousands of people every year and leads to a substantial number of corresponding arrests and charges. Even in states like New Hampshire that have strict drunk-driving laws designed to prevent the frequency of such incidents, drunk driving accidents still remain common across the state. In fact, New Hampshire drunk driving accidents have ranked among the leading causes of fatal car accidents for years.

In a recent news article, New Hampshire state police arrested ten drivers during a drunk driving saturation patrol. During the DWI Saturation Patrol, 92 vehicles were stopped, and ten arrests were made. Four people were arrested on driving under the influence (DUI) charges, and one of them was a felon in possession of a stolen handgun, receiving stolen property, and conduct after the accident. Another who was arrested on an aggravated DUI and speeding charges also incurred an open container violation. Various other individuals were arrested on different charges in addition to DUI and DWI charges, ranging from theft to operating the vehicle without a valid license to breach of bail.

According to recent reports, the New Hampshire State Police have taken on a more aggressive role to prevent drunk driving throughout the state. Although New Hampshire has some of the most strictly enforced laws in the country to counteract and prevent drunk driving, the practice remains common across the state.

In New Hampshire, a driver can get a DWI, also called a DUI, when they drive or attempt to drive with a blood alcohol content of 0.08 percent or greater or while under the influence of any substance that would impair a person’s ability to drive. This could include recreational drugs, prescription drugs, over the counter medications, or alcohol. For commercial drivers, the bar is even lower for getting a DWI or DUI at 0.04 percent. Additionally, for drivers under 21, DWIs and DUIs are possible if a driver’s blood-alcohol content is more than 0.02 percent.

Penalties for drunk driving in New Hampshire depend on the number of prior DWI and DUI convictions that the individual has incurred over the last ten years. Penalties following a conviction can come in the form of jail time, suspension of the individual’s driver’s license, or fines. In addition to criminal liability, drunk drivers can also be held civilly liable for any injuries caused by their negligent or reckless actions.

Those injured in a New Hampshire DUI accident can pursue a personal injury claim against a drunk driver to recover compensation for the injuries they sustained in an accident. Depending on the circumstances, damages may include payment for medical expenses, lost wages, as well as for any pain and suffering caused by the accident.

Contact a New Hampshire Personal Injury Attorney

If you or someone you know has recently been involved in an accident involving a New Hampshire drunk driving, contact the experienced attorneys at Peter Thompson & Associates. The lawyers at our firm have worked with all kinds of injury victims and can provide quality legal representation at every step in the process. Contact our office at 800-804-2004 to schedule a free consultation today.